Get a print copy of PINS

Email: PINS Editorial

Back copies of PINS are slowly being uploaded. Print copies of some back issues are still available - contact the PINS Editorial for details.

Editor Floretta Boonzaier

Co-editor Shose Kessi

Derek Hook

Desmond Painter

Garth Stevens

Hugo Canham

Lindy Wilbraham

Peace Kiguwa

Ronelle Carolissen

Ross Truscott

Suntosh Pillay

Wahbie Long


PINS (Psychology in society) is a peer-reviewed journal that was formed in September 1983 as vehicle for a critical and anti-apartheid stance in psychology. PINS continues to foster a socio-historical and critical theory perspective by focusing on the theory and practice of psychology in the southern African context.

ISSN: 2309-8708


In addition to full-length articles, short discussions (called "briefings"), and debates on previously published material, or on issues of the moment, are encouraged. Authors are required to use non-sexist and non-discriminatory conventions in their contributions. Articles should not normally exceed 8 000 words in length, excluding references. Book reviews, unless they are review articles, should not exceed 1 500 words. Authors are required to submit their work by email, preferably in MS Word format, and to comply with the format and style conventions as detailed in the PINS Style guide for authors. Prospective authors might also want to consult the documents on PINS’s review process and mentoring process.

PINS (Psychology in society) is published in conventional print format, and online at PINS is no longer able to offer full open access to its content. Starting from PINS 56 (2018) all content will be blocked for two years. To access the content of current issues (2 years) a subscription will be required.


Floretta Boonzaier (Editor, UCT)
Shose Kessi (Co-editor, UCT)


Hugo Canham (Wits)
Ronelle Carolissen (University of Stellenbosch)
Derek Hook (Duquesne University, USA)
Peace Kiguwa (Wits)
Wahbie Long (UCT)
Desmond Painter (University of Stellenbosch)
Suntosh Pillay (UKZN; King Dinuzulu Hospital Complex)
Garth Stevens (Wits)
Ross Trustcott (UWC)
Lindy Wilbraham (Rhodes University)


Arvin Bhana (MRC; UKZN, Durban)
Kevin Durrheim (UKZN, Pietermartizburg)
Don Foster (UCT)
Kopano Ratele (MRC, Cape Town; and UNISA)


Lindy Wilbraham (Rhodes) -